GOP holds two Ky House seats

Republicans held onto two open seats in the Kentucky House of Representatives on Election Day, winning in both districts by large margins. Republicans Tim Moore and Diane St. Onge resigned in recent months from House Districts 18 and 63, respectively.

In House District 18, Republican Samara Heavrin garnered 8,655 votes (60 percent), to Democrat Becky Miller’s 5,701 votes (40 percent) in the Nov. 5 election.

Heavrin, of Leitchfield, is a division director for Kentucky state Treasurer Allison Ball, and she was an office assistant in U.S. Sen. Rand Paul’s office. Heavrin also interned for U.S. Rep. Brett Guthrie.

District 18 is Grayson and part of Hardin counties.

In House District 63, Republican Kim Banta defeated Democrat Josh Blair, taking 10,921 votes (63 percent) to Blair’s 6,385 votes (37 percent).

Banta, of Fort Mitchell, is a former school principal and is the chief academic officer for the Kenton County School District.

In both races, the Republicans out-raised and out-spent their Democratic counterparts.

According to their 15-day pre-election reports, Heavrin raised $59,378 for her bid, which included contributions from the leadership PACs of U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell and Guthrie, while Miller raised $39,922.

Banta raised $76,428, also receiving a contribution from McConnell’s PAC, and Blair raised $22,758.

District 63 is parts of Boone and Kenton counties.

Laura Cullen Glasscock